Lord of the Mountain

Nate’s family has a secret, and it’s wrapped up in a song. The problem is, his preacher father hates music, and when he catches Nate hanging around downtown Bristol with musicians like Jimmie Rodgers and the Carter Family, he comes down hard on him. So Nate sets out in search of himself and the song he thinks will heal his family. Set during the “big bang” of country music in the late 1920s, Nate’s journey of self-discovery parallels that of a region finding its voice for the first time.

Loading...
  • 296 Pages
  • 5.5" x 8"
  • 9780807547519
  • September 2018

Buy from Albert Whitman

  • $16.99
  • This item is currently out of stock.
  • 9780807547526
  • September 2018

Other Places to Buy

Reviews

  • The real history melds seamlessly with Nate’s family story, and the emotions ring true through the hopeful but bittersweet end. A solid, worthwhile read.

    - Kirkus Reviews

  • Beautiful and intelligent historical fiction in the vein of Christopher Paul Curtis, Vince Vawter, and Mildred D. Taylor. A must-have for school and public library collections

    - School Library Journal starred review

  • This is a beautiful book, a tale of music, mountains and mystery spun by a master storyteller. Ronald Kidd takes us on a fascinating and fast-paced journey through the hills of 1920s East Tennessee, where a boy becomes lost in country music as he makes discoveries about himself, his family, and his community. Lord of the Mountain pleases like an old-time melody, a lyrical adventure with surprises and meaning at every turn.

    - Andrew Maraniss, author of Strong Inside